Robin Sacks' 1 Minute Mindset

June 25, 2014

How to Avoid Sounding Like Charlie Brown’s teacher (“whhahhhh whhah wah…wwwwawwhhhaw, wahhh”)

Filed under: Uncategorized — Robin Sacks...Speaker, Author, Performance Coach @ 8:23 am

Change your “elevator pitch” right now! Try something that I call “educational marketing.” Test this at your next networking event. It works! When someone asks you, “what do you do?” do not answer with a label. Instead, answer with an outcome. I will use myself as an example. Instead of saying, “I am a motivational speaker, writer, and coach,” I might say, “I help people get out of their own way!” I have a friend who is a professional organizer. Instead of saying, “I am a professional organizer,” she says, “I bring order out of chaos.” I work with a trainer who works specifically with sales professionals. Instead of saying, “I am a sales trainer,” she says, “I help people have more and better sales conversations.” Do you see the enormous difference?

As soon as you slap a label on yourself, you have lost control of the conversation.

CLICK HERE to read more about using “the outcomes approach.”

Enjoy!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

